Final Day Port Macquarie Bodyboard Festival

Port Macquarie, NSW, Sunday 22nd April 2012 The 2012 Port Macquarie Festival of Bodyboarding ran to completion toady in front of a spectator packed break wall in consistent 3-4 foot surf at Port Macquarie’s famous B’ Wall surfbreak.

Taking out the WWT Grand Slam event was an in form Isabela Sousa from Brazil. Sousa defeated Mayumi Tone (JPN) in second, Enate Aguirre (ESK) in third and Karla Costa-Taylor in fourth. The Brazilian 2010 World Champion is now in a commanding lead on the WWT with two wins out of first three events of 2012. Sousa took charge early on in the final, racking up a pair of midrange scores with clean spins-roll combos, but really established dominance when she launched a big invert on a set wave closeout to take out the final.

The DKWT event was taken out by South Africa’s Sacha Specker, who narrowly topped Central Coast’s natural footer Grant Malony (AUS) in second, 2011 DK World Champion, Damian King (Port Mac/AUS) in third and Mason Rose (Port Mac/AUS) in fourth. King looked unstoppable in his semifinal heat, scoring a perfect 10 point ride for a deep barrel backed up bay a flurry of frontside turns, but was unable to find his rhythm in the final.

The 6*GQS event was won by the high-flying Hawaiian, Jeff Hubbard. Hubbard made the most of the ideal conditions, taking to the air with a variety of air-roll-spins, inverts and an air reverse, posting and impressive heat score of 16.13 out of a possible 20 points to top local youngster Charlie Holt (Port Mac/AUS) in second, Andrew Lester (Cronulla/AUS) in third and 2011 World Champion Pierre-Louis Costes (Capbreton/FRA) in fourth. After Hubbard launched a lofty air reverse about half way through the final and was rewarded 9.25 out of 10, Holt and Lester were searching for near perfect scores and Costes found himself in a combination situation.

Interesting fact: All three winners today were also winners at the 2012 IBA Pipeline Challenge.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *